365 Days of Selfie Love Project: Challenging My Perception of Myself

A couple months ago I wrote a blog post about the importance of taking photos with your significant other  and it got me thinking about personal selfies and all the hype around them.

There is so much negative press floating around in the media about taking selfies. Add that to our own negative self talk about ourselves and our looks and you have a recipe for disaster. I decided to challenge these troubling messages and took the time to sit down and really think about selfies and why I had such a negative reaction to taking them. We’ve come to associate selfies with narcism, vapidness, or a cry for attention.

My conclusion: Everything in Moderation!

I now firmly believe that taking and looking at pictures of yourself, with a gentle and loving eye, has therapeutic applications. Some days you are going to look fabulous (even without your hair and make up done) and it’s going to make you smile and walk through life with your head up high. Some days you are going to look tired and worn down, and these images will remind you to take the time for your self care. You will get to know your face, and yourself, in a more intimate way, and intimacy can breed a stronger sense of self connection.

The 365 Days of Selfie Love project gives us a challenge to get intimate with ourselves, to strike down the negative stereo types and fight back at the crappy messages the media is sending us about ourselves. Every day you are forced to take a moment to look at yourself, to confront your negative voices and those feelings of unworthiness, and tell them to take a hike and celebrate YOU. You are worth a little celebration every day.

I challenge you to join me in taking one selfie, every day, for an entire year! Post it to your Instagram, twitter or Facebook with the hash-tag #365daysselfielove.

You can see my selfies on my Instagram here!

If you’d love to learn how to take better selfies let me know by commenting below (or contacting me by any of the methods listed below) and I’ll design up a quick How-To PDF that will give you tips on taking better selfies;  I’ll even email it to you for free!

One last thing: do you want to get involved with the Pin Up Calendar project? If so, please contact me though any of the channels below. I’d love to chat with you!

By phone: 250-792-0868

By email: info@gaiamagickphotography.com

By Facebook: click here!

By Website: right here

Stay Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

