Quick and Easy, Guilt Free Spring Cleaning

I don’t know about you, but after a long fall and winter of being trapped indoors shooting sessions, the studio and prop room are in desperate need of a full spring cleaning. The studio isn’t too bad overall, as I keep the clutter down to ensure plenty of shooting space, but the prop room; frankly, it is a disaster.  I’ve been dumping everything from the studio into there to get it out of the way when I’m shooting, plus all the props and clothing that we’ve pulled out over the last 6 months haven’t really been put away properly. Plus my organization system got disrupted. You see, I had roommates move in with me, and they’ve used the fridge and counters in the prop room, but for them to get at those we had to move things around. Once my system was disturbed, it just stopped being used, so now everything is out of order and all in piles, it desperately needs a good cleaning and organizing.

On a bright note: I am pleased to report that the lost and found box is empty! All item have been returned to the clients who left them behind.

So, as I gaze at the beauty session gear storage wreckage that has become my prop and costume room I wonder to myself, how can a I quickly and easily get this clean and organized. I need to do a lot in a short amount of time if I am to get both rooms cleaned and organized before my kids come home from school and I have a beauty session to photograph. I’m looking for a guilt free method that’ll get the job done in one-6 hour chunk of my time.

Step 1 Make a Checklist(s): this is never a bad idea when you are planning on getting organized, and it’ll help you make sure the job gets done from start to finish. Sometimes I forget certain tasks like taking things to the thrift store once the sort is done or picking up a shelf before I start to clean and get organized. Bonus: Checking off tasks will help to keep you motivated

Step 2 Be Prepared: we need to make sure we have everything we will need to get the job done before we even start it. There is nothing worse than being mid-sort and realizing you need another garbage bag or bin to put stuff into. In my case I need to make sure the broom or vacuum is nearby in case one of the costumes or bins spill glitter or boa feathers. I wont want to stop to go get the broom and track the glitter or feathers all over my house!

Step 3 Call in Reinforcements: if you can, call a friend, lover or family member to give you a hand in getting cleaned and organized. It’ll go faster and you’ll stay motivated to get it done. You may have to return the favour but it’ll so be worth it. Bonus: productive hang out time!

Step 4 Make it Fun!: Now get creative. Put on a good music play list, maybe dress up in a silly outfit to clean in, or buy cleaning tools that make you smile. Whatever you have to do to make cleaning feel like less of a chore.

Step 5 Get to Work: All of the other steps are pointless if you don’t get just get to work and dig in. This is the worst part, good luck.

Alright, let’s get to cleaning!

While you clean: Stay Gorgeous!

If you want to contact me for any reason, I’d love to chat with you!

By phone (and text!): 250-792-0868

By email: info@gaiamagickphotography.com

By Facebook: click here!

By Website: right here

 

Refrence links

http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/house-home/housekeeping/spring-cleaning-how-to-make-it-fun-organized-and-easy

http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/house-home/housekeeping/spring-cleaning-tips

Leave a Reply

