Witch in the Woods: a creative session

With the holidays over and the January blues starting to settle in, and the kids and fiancee back at work, I decided it was time for a session just for me. A session in which I could be totally creative with the costume, the make up, the angles, the mood and lighting, and the editing. A session that was on nobody’s time line but my own. Don’t get me wrong, I love my clients. I love their beautiful sessions, and the joy they bring, and I love surprising my clients by providing their images for viewing in considerably less than time than most professional photographers. I love my job!

Gaia Magick Photography, Comox Valley, Courtenay, Fantasy session, Witch in the woods, Donna Rushton,

As an artist, though, some times its good to let go of everything and follow a creative inspiration to see where it will lead. And because I couldn’t guarantee anything would turn out, I didn’t want to ask a client to put her money on the table. So I decided to put my own money on the table and offered up a session to all the ladies I knew in which they could be paid to play with me for a couple of hours. And luck would have it, I found the perfect person for the job. Some of you might remember Donna’s Gothic pictures from her Valentine themed session, or maybe the boudoir and fetish styled ones. Donna likes to play with costumes, and while she may not be a professional model or have a degree in theatre, she makes up for all of that in enthusiasm and wardrobe! I love a girl who shows up with an arm load of outfits and shoes (well, knee and thigh boots in Donna’s case). It can be inspiring to go through another persons closet, and I think we have another creative session for the summer inspired by one of the outfits that Donna brought that isn’t quite match the theme I was looking for for this one.

Gaia Magick Photography, Comox Valley, Courtenay, Fantasy session, Witch in the woods, Donna Rushton,

As you may be able to tell the session was inspired by the dark occult witch movies that seem to be so popular, tempered by my own experiences with people of the pagan faith. It has been awhile since I last shot outdoors, and late in the afternoon at this time of year makes the light tricky, but I wanted a darker moody effect, and I think we achieved that very well in a few of the images. Thank you so much Donna, for indulging my own creative spark, you are a pleasure to work with, and a riot of laughter to boot!

Please let me know what you think in the comments below, feedback is required for artist growth!

If you feel inspired to have your own fantasy portrait session, are interested in experiencing a magkical session, want to create a unique gift for your special someone, or want more information or help coming up with a creative inspiration that truly brings out your inner goddess, please contact me. I’d love to chat with you!

By phone: 250-792-0868

By email: info@gaiamagickphotography.com

By Facebook: click here!

Stay Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

